One of Nyn, a Reading Writer

Hello everyone!

Although as of right now, “everyone” is referring to no one.  Hopefully, that will change.

I’m here, as of today, for books-reading them, writing them, and whatever else that can be done to books.

I’ve always loved writing-ever since I was in high school and stole my classmates names to put into my stories.  Stories that have never seen the light of day, thank goodness.  I’d always just messed around with the idea of writing.  There were books that were so amazing that no one could do anything to make them any better than they already were.  There were also books that made me think, “I so could’ve written that better than they did.”  And that made me think.

Why don’t I write something better than they did?

I tried, and failed.  Notebooks and computer folders filled with stories, but I didn’t really like any of them.  They were too overdramatic, too mushy, too something.

Then, I got busy, as in my life got busy and I didn’t have time outside of college to do anything other than read and write for my classes.  Oh, if I could redo the last few years!

But now I’ve graduated.  I’ve got a full-time job (which I’m at right now).  I don’t have as much free time as I’d like to have, but it’s more than I’ve had in a long time.  I go to work, I go home, and I don’t have to think about work again until I walk back in that door.  There’s no carry-over.  I’m not reading this book or that essay for a class, I’m not writing an essay for a professor.

This past May was the first time in years that I’d gotten to read a book, read it because I wanted to read it.  No analysis unless I wanted to, no essay, no presentation, no speech.  Just reading.

And I loved it.

I read about Katniss, and Tris, and Thomas, and…I realized that I hadn’t written in as long as I hadn’t read.

So…I’m reading and I’m writing.

I’d like to use this page to talk about what I’m doing with both-which books I’ve read and why I like them, what’s going on in my stories, and things like that.  If any of you would like to talk share that too, I’d welcome it!

So, let me know.  Do you write?  Do you read?

~Nyn

Leave a Reply

