PROCRASTINATION

That word, up there.  I am the queen of that word.  I have procrastinated in every way I can think of.  I’m also like a lot of other people in that I will put off doing something, even if it’s something I want to do.  YouTube and Facebook and Twitter and Snapchat…anything to keep me from doing what I’m supposed to be doing.

I hate myself when I do it, and I’m usually telling myself off (in my head) for not doing what I’m supposed to.

So, I’ve only added two scenes to what I have on my computer.  That brings the word count up to 4,500.  I’ve only finished one scene in my notebook, but I’m almost through with another, so I don’t feel that bad about it.  I was stuck for a bit.  I couldn’t figure out how a fight was supposed to go down.  Then I watched a few videos by Katytastic and Jenna Moreci (spelled exactly like that, find them on YouTube) and just decided, “What the hell!  Just put some words down and get a move on!”  And that is how my scene that will eventually reach 1,000 words (probably, hopefully) ended up barely hitting 500.  But, hey!  I finished it!

Right now, I’m just writing down what I can get.  The bones, if you will.  Once I get the basic skeleton down in my notebook and get it all moved over to my laptop, I’m going to start adding the meat into it.  I am also going to rename a few characters.  I don’t know what yet, so I’m sticking with the names I’ve got now and when I start to type on it, I’m just going to do a massive find and replace for all the names.  Maybe I’ll have the names I want by that time.  But (if you’ll please look up at the at the title of this post) I probably won’t.

Okay, now I need to quit procrastinating here and get to work!  Good luck to everyone that’s trying to work on their own projects, but are fighting the procrastination demons.  Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

