Review (Spoilers! Maybe?)

I’ve been in a reading slump since the beginning of the year.  I know, it’s been almost five months.  But in my defense, I’ve read more books in the past year, books that I’ve wanted to read for my own pleasure, than I read in the four years before that.  It’s almost like I went into book overload.

It may have also been because I’d just finished the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by the amazing Laini Taylor, and I just didn’t know what to do with myself anymore.  Really, that was the last book I read.  I finished it on January 1st.

Anyway!  Moving on!

I just finished, no more than fifteen minutes ago, Before He Finds Her by Michael Kardos.  He’s a codirector for Mississippi State University’s Creative Writing program.  And I really wish that I’d gotten he chance to take one of his classes.  I wished that before, but now, I’m seriously regretting missing out on that.

(Disclaimer:  It’s been a while since I did a book report like this.  Please forgive anything that sounds stupid or confusing.  I will get better.  Eventually.)

Before He Finds Her follows the life of Melanie Denison.  After finding out she’s pregnant, Melanie decides to finally take her life into her own hands.  She’s going to find her murderous father, so that she can live without looking over her shoulder.

I started this book in March, but then I stopped because it wasn’t holding my attention.  Slumps, y’all.  Slumps.  However, when I picked up the book again on Tuesday of this week, I was immediately sucked back in-with no need to re-read what I’d already read (See?  Stupid and/or confusing!).  It’s now just before closing on Thursday.  I can read pretty fast when I put my mind to it.  (I’m currently resisting the urge to put emoji’s in here.)

Before He Finds Her gets a 4 out or 5 stars on my Goodreads page.  It really was a fantastic read.  It was a little confusing at the start, though.  It switches back and forth between “present day” (2006) and the year the murder happened (1991).  It also switches between third-person narrators–Ramsey Miller, leading up to the murder of Allison Miller; and Melanie Denison, a.k.a. Meg Miller, as she hunts for the truth.  It was easier to keep track of once I got further into the book, since it would have longer stretches of writing before switching.  There’s  a good amount of cursing, which I am no stranger to, but I wouldn’t let younger kids read this.  I’m not sure I’d let my mother read this either.

Either way, Before He Finds Her is definitely going on my Read Again list.  If I read it again, I may bump the rating up to 4.5 out of 5, but the narration gives me a hesitation on a full 5 stars.  Considering I went into this book knowing nothing other than the name of the author and a saleswoman saying, “That’s a good book!”, I think I did pretty well.

‘Till next time!

Read On!

Leave a Reply

