Going Back to School?

I can’t believe that I’m going to say this, but I want to go back to school.

I’ve been out of college for a year, and I don’t like it.

Well, I like it.  I’ve got a full-time job, a new car (my old one didn’t like me anymore), and spending money.  I won’t be giving any of that up, trust me.  But I don’t like not learning.  Which is understandable, since I have been in school for one thing or the other for almost twenty years.  Seriously.  I started kindergarten at age 5-we didn’t have a pre-k at my school yet-and I graduated in May before I turned 25 in October.

I feel weird not being in school, not learning, not (I never thought I’d say this) writing papers.  I’m one of those people that likes to learn random things and then spout them out.  My brain is 30% music and song lyrics, 25% movie quotes, 25% book quotes, 20% stuff I learned in school.  (The school part is actually larger, but it overlaps with all the other categories too.)

So, I’ve decided to get my MFA in Creative Writing from Full Sail University.  It’s going to be online, so I’ll still be able to work full-time, and I can finish it in one year.  One year, people!  Now, I’m not doing it yet.  I’ve got that new car that I mentioned up top.  It was affordable for me, but by no means was it cheap.  I want to save up some more.  I haven’t applied, sent transcripts (which will be a pain since I’ve been to three different colleges), looked at financial aid, etc.

But I know that I can handle it.  One class a month for a year.  All the classes look interesting.  So hopefully by this time next year I will at least have started school again.  I’m actually looking forward to it.

I’m excited.  I’m really, really excited, y’all.  Wow.

Leave a Reply

