Guess what?

Guess what I didn’t do.  That’s right, write!

I am absolutely ridiculous, I know.  I get told this on a semi-daily basis.

But I do have a question for you guys.  I was watching Dancing with the Stars last night and say Nyle win and I was very happy.  I really liked him and his dancing.  Anyway.

I want to make a “Nyle” character in my book.  I want him to be deaf.  I want for the words he says with his hands to be in italics.

I have a sort-of plot forming in my head, and I think it would be interesting to have a deaf person as one of my MC’s.  What do you think?

I’ve read a lot of books.  And the books now are definitely more diverse than they were when I started getting into novels and branching out in different genres, but I think the only book I’ve read with sign language in it is The Siren by Kiera Cass.  But, even in that book, sign language isn’t particularly necessary–the MC’s don’t use it because they are deaf, (spoiler if you haven’t read it) they use it so they don’t have to talk.

I want my “Nyle” to have to use it because he is actually deaf.

I’m going to give it a go and put some of the plot down on paper–see where it takes me.  Let me know what your thoughts are on the subject!

Leave a Reply

