Doing One Thing At A Time

This is something I’m not good at.  No matter what it is.  I go back and forth between two books, between two stories (actually, it’s three), between two scenes (this one’s three, too).

See what I mean?

I finished a scene-the next-to-last since I jump around.  Well, I “finished it” in that I moved on to the next scene I wanted to write, but the scene itself was split in half because I wanted to expand on it more.  This turned Scene 53 into Scene 53 and 53.5.  I already have a card made up for 54, so I wasn’t going to change it.  I finished 53 and started on…Well, which scene do you think I started on?  That’s right! Number 4!  How in the world it that a logical progression?  I just…I don’t know.  It’s a good thing no one’s going to see this story until it’s finished.

Anyway.

I started on Scene 4, but 53 and its new twin brother 53.5 were bugging me.  So what do I do?  I stop writing 4, halfway through mind you, and begin on 53.5.  Cue the face palming.

I will try to do better, but I’m not going to hold my breath.  I want to finish 53.5, then finish 4, and then (!) finish the other scene that I started before either of those but just can’t figure out what to do with.

So.  Three scenes, all in progress.  Wish me luck-I’m going to need it.

Leave a Reply

