One Down, An Undetermined Amount to Go…

Well, I do actually know how many I have to go.  Books, that is.  I have a list on my computer (name, series, author, whether I’ve read it, and if it was print or not) of all the books on my Kindle and my bookshelves.  Slightly ridiculous, I know, but I have a bad habit of buying a book because it looks good only to get home and find out I’ve already got it…from a few years ago.

But now, for the one down:

I just finished John Winchester’s Journal.  I know, it sounds like I actually read someone’s journal, but I didn’t.  JWJ was written by Alex Irvine, and released in 2009 to go along with the TV show, Supernatural.  Now, this show is easily my favorite of all time–I can quote it, I can look at pictures and know which episode/season it’s from, I know plotlines, etc.  I also have a music playlist named Dean.  If I wasn’t scared to death of needles, I’d probably already have an anti-possession symbol tattoo right now.

That being said, it’s take me seven years to get JWJ, mostly because I didn’t know it existed until last year.  I found it on Book Outlet a few weeks ago and had to get my hands on it.  I absolutely loved it, even though it’s not a book in the traditional sense.  It’s written from John’s point-of-view, obviously, and it starts two weeks after Mary’s death in 1983.  It ends right before the show starts in 2005, leaving off as John leaves Jericho.  I loved being able to read it and pick out things that I recognized form the later seasons of the show and how everything related back and forth.  It also gives a better sense of John himself, instead of just getting his one season on the show and then Sam and Dean occasionally mentioning him.  Five out of five stars from me, and I will probably read it again.  Right now, I’d really love to get on Netflix and marathon the show, but work it waiting.

“Dad’s on a hunting trip, and he hasn’t been home if a few days.”

Looks like I’ve got work to do.

Leave a Reply

