Books/Movies

Have any of you read something by Stephen King?  I’ve gotten to page 13 of The Gunslinger–first book I’ve read by him, first book I’ve owned by him, and I probably wouldn’t have gotten it in the first place if they weren’t making a movie.  Also, Idris Elba and Matthew McConaughey are in it which increases the likelihood that I’ll watch it.  I like being able to compare the movie to the book.

I’m weird, I know.

The other option on my TBR was Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.  My first encounter with this was the English-dubbed, animated version.  I watched it several times and loved it.  Then, one time when I found it on TV, it was the original, foreign-language version with English subtitles.  I wasn’t going to let that stop me from watching it.  You know a movie is good when you’ll read the subtitles just to be able to watch it.  It wasn’t until a year or two ago that I realized that there even was a book.  I found it a couple of weeks ago and bought it (breaking my book-buying-ban while I was at it) and I’ve been waiting to read it.  It jumped out of my TBR jar this time around, but I thought I’d try Stephen King first since Halloween is coming up.

It’s been four or five days since I started it and I’ve read 13 pages.  If I haven’t read more of it by this weekend, I’ll probably stick it back on my shelf and try again later.  Right now, I’m in the mood to read–when I’m not working on Reapers or the new NaNoWriMo story–and I don’t want to put myself into another six-month-long reading slump just because I can’t get through one book.

How’s your TBR pile going?  Whatcha reading?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

