I’m Switching!

I love to read.  I really do.  And one thing I’ve noticed about the books I like to read is that they’re mostly in third person point-of-view.  I’ve read a few first person that were okay.  A couple that were just plain weird.  And another series that I probably wouldn’t have read if it hadn’t been that the book is always better than the movie.

So why am I trying to write in first person?  Like, really?

And that is why I’ve decided to start from my new beginning for Reapers, and start it in third person.  Maybe that’s why I’ve been stalled for the last couple of weeks.  I mean, it’s going to be ridiculous considering that I’ve got over 60,000 words down at this point.  Not to mention, the around-two-hundred-pages I’ve printed.  The story is still the same.  I’m going to edit what I’ve printed and use that to convert the narrator from first to third.  (Crossing my fingers this freaking works!)  I want to have a useable, readable draft by the end of the year.  And I’m going to do it, dangit!

Have any of you tried this–switching narrators so late in the game, so drastically?  Do ya have any tips?

While I’m mulling this over, I’m wanted to do a January Wrap-Up for all the books I’ve read since the beginning of the year.  I’ve been on a bit of a roll and am finally out of that stupid reading slump.  I’ve also told myself that I can’t buy any more books until I’ve read five.  I’ve noticed that reading while I’m writing helps.  If I go too long without reading a good book, I suddenly become stupid and incapable of description.

I’ve given myself one crazy To-Do list.  What’s on yours?

Leave a Reply

